Racial and Ethnic Equity Commission

About the Commission

The Kenosha County Racial Equity and Ethnic Commission was created with the County Board's May 18, 2021, adoption of Resolution 1.

The commission's mission is to realize greater racial and ethnic equity and dismantle racism in Kenosha County through research, education, and ongoing review of current policies and procedures so as to implement transformative ideas born of research, collaboration, and community engagement.

The commission will be comprised of nine commissioners:

  • Two must be members of the County Board, to be appointed by the County Board chair with the approval of the County Board.
  • Seven will be appointed by the County Executive with the approval of the County Board. These appointments must be made from a pool of applicants/nominees.

Resolution 1 calls for the commission to, at a minimum, reflect the diverse racial and ethnic makeup of Kenosha County as determined by the most recent census information with at all times five of the seven non-County Board commissioners representing racial and ethnic minorities in Kenosha County.

How to Get Involved

Applications and nominations for appointment are currently being accepted. The application form is available here. A form to nominate others for consideration to serve on the commission is available here.

Application and nomination forms may be returned via email to [email protected] or by mail or in person to the Office of the County Executive, 1010 56th St., Third Floor, Kenosha, WI 53140. The deadline to submit applications or nominations is June 30, 2021.

Learn more

A news release about the commission's creation is available here.